The Phases of Menopause - Ellen's Intimate Care School |ellen®
Grafiskt element

The Phases of Menopause

Grafiskt element

Similar but different

How one is affected and experience the menopause is different for women, but usually three different phases are mentioned that identify the process of menpause – perimenopaus, menopaus och postmenopaus.


The perimenopause is the period leading up to the menopause, which is when you have your last period.
The perimenopause can last for several years and usually occurs about four years before the menopause. This period ends when you reach the menopause, i.e., when you have your last menstrual period.


The menopause refers to the last period and can be confirmed only when you have gone 12 months without a bleed.


The postmenopause is when you have gone 12 months without a bleed after your last period. The postmenopause then lasts for the rest of your life.